Prince’s Bay Lighthouse & Keeper’s House, Staten Island
Address: Hylan Boulevard
LPC Action: LPC Public Hearing 9/13/1966
LPC Backlog Hearing: Prioritized for designation
Designated on June 28, 2016
LPC- Fact Sheet | Research File
There has continuously been a lighthouse on this site since as early as 1826. For the past 150+ years, this lighthouse and keeper’s quarters have weathered the sea with grace, as the rusticated brownstone façades still read as crisp. Lighthouses are landmarks in every sense of the word: they withstand the test of time and harsh elements, and demarcate the relationship between town and sea. This lighthouse is now owned by New York State, and set within a public park known as the Mount Loretto Unique Area. The hike up to the lighthouse is a destination and a specific draw of the park, which commands beautiful views of Raritan Bay.