Former St. Mark’s Memorial Chapel
288 East 10th Street
James Renwick, Jr. and W. H. Russell, 1882-83
Occupied since 1925 by the Saint Nicholas of Myra Orthodox Church, this building was donated by Rutherford Stuyvesant as a branch of the Mission Society of St. Mark’s Church in-the-Bowery. The brick building with terra-cotta trim, which displays a blend of the Renaissance Revival and Gothic Revival styles, was the work of renowned church architect James Renwick, Jr., who also designed St. Patrick’s Cathedral and Grace Church. Its graceful and varied massing culminates in a square bell tower capped with a pyramidal roof and copper cross. The Former St. Mark’s Memorial Chapel is a designated New York City Individual Landmark.